National University of Singapore

The National University of Singapore (NUS) is a multi-campus university of global standing, with distinctive strengths in education and research and an entrepreneurial dimension. It offers a comprehensive range of disciplines ranging from architecture to medicine to music. The NUS student community comprises a cosmopolitan mix of over 32,000 students from 88 countries, contributing to a vibrant and thriving campus life.


In September 1904, Tan Jiak Kim led a group of representatives of the Chinese and other non-European communities, and petitioned the Governor of the Straits Settlements, Sir John Anderson, to establish a medical school in Singapore. Tan, who was the first president of the Straits Chinese British Association, managed to raise $87,077, of which the largest amount of $12,000 came from himself. On 3 July 1905, the medical school was founded, and was known as the Straits and Federated Malay States Government Medical School. The medical library was first housed in the students' reading room within the school, converted from the vacant old female lunatic asylum in Sepoy Lines.

In 1912, the medical school received a donation of $120,000 from the King Edward VII Memorial Fund, started by Dr Lim Boon Keng. Subsequently on 18 November 1913, the name of the school was changed to the King Edward VII Medical School. In 1921, it was again changed to the King Edward VII College of Medicine to reflect its academic status.

In 1929, Raffles College was established to promote arts and social sciences at tertiary level for Singapore students.

Two decades later, Raffles College was merged with the King Edward VII College of Medicine to form the University of Malaya on 8 October 1949. The two highly respected institutions were merged to perform together an even greater service by providing for the higher education needs of the Federation of Malaya and Singapore and to help lay the foundations of a new nation by producing a generation of skilled and educated men.

In 1959, the University of Malaya was divided into two divisions, University of Malaya in Kuala Lumpur and University of Malaya in Singapore. The latter division formed the University of Singapore in 1962.

The present institution was formed with the merger of the University of Singapore and Nanyang University in 1980. The original crest of Nanyang University with three intertwined rings was incorporated into the new coat-of-arms of NUS

University cultural centre

Faculties and Schools

NUS has 14 faculties and schools, including a music conservatory. Currently, it has five overseas colleges at major entrepreneurial hubs in Silicon Valley, Bio Valley, Shanghai, Stockholm and Bangalore.
The Faculties are:
Arts and Social Sciences
NUS Business School
NUS School of Computing
Design and Environment
National University of Singapore Faculty of Law
Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine
University Scholars Programme
Yong Siew Toh Conservatory of Music
Graduate Schools
Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy
NUS Graduate School for Integrative Sciences and Engineering
Duke-NUS Graduate Medical School Singapore

NUS was ranked 33rd in the 2007 THES-QS World University Rankings

NUS was ranked 30th in the 2008 THES-QS World University Rankings
NUS was ranked 30th in the 2009 THES-QS World University Rankings
NUS was ranked 31st in the 2010 QS World University Rankings
NUS was ranked 28th in the 2011 QS World University Rankings


Anonymous said...

Can we get more visuals please? And more information like entry requirements?

Anonymous said...

you can find out more details on their site: www.nus.edu.sg
its kind of a late reply though :/

The roots of education are bitter, but the fruits is sweet ~ Aristotle

Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world ~ Nelson Mandela

Education is not a preparation for life, Education is life itself ~ John Dewey
William Butler Yeats: Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire.