Indian Institute of Technology Delhi

The Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi (located at Hauz Khas) (formerly College of Engineering & Technology Delhi), commonly known as IIT-Delhi or IIT-D , is a major college of engineering in Delhi, India. It forms a part of the league along with other IITs in India: the Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay, Guwahati, Kanpur, Kharagpur, Madras, and Roorkee.


The institute was established as College of Engineering & Technology, Delhi on August 21, 1961. Its foundation stone was laid by HRH Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, and was inaugurated by Prof sudama, then Union Minister for Scientific Research and Cultural Affairs.

After less than two years of existence, Parliament of India amended Institutes of Technology Act, and upgraded the institute as Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi. The IIT Delhi main building was formally opened by Dr. Zakir Hussain, the then President of India, on March 2, 1968.

Academic Departments

IIT Delhi has 13 departments. A department usually focuses on a single engineering or science discipline. Each department has its own administration structure with the Head of the Department (HoD) at the top of it. The HoD heads the department for a period of two years after which a new head is appointed. Each department offers a program (at the undergraduate or post-graduate level), some departments such as Mechanical Engineering Department, offer two or more undergraduate level programs and some departments collaborate with each other to offer a joint program. An example of the latter is the M.Tech in Optical Communications program which is offered by the Department of Physics and Department of Electrical Engineering. The Department of Management Studies (DMS) at IIT Delhi came into existence in 1993 by an amendment to IIT(D) statutes. The department offers a two year full time MBA programme with focus on Management Systems, a two year full time MBA with focus on Telecommunication Systems Management and a three year part time MBA programme with focus on Technology Management.

The academic departments in IIT Delhi include the following:
Applied Mechanics
Biochemical Engineering & Biotechnology
Chemical Engineering
Civil Engineering
Computer Science & Engineering
Electrical Engineering
Department of Humanities & Social Science
Management Studies
Mechanical Engineering
Textile Technology

Inter-disciplinary centers

An inter-disciplinary center defers from a department in the fact that it deals with an overlap of two or more disciplines of engineering or science. Similar to the departments the centers also offer programs though they offer these courses only at the post-graduation level. The following multi-disciplinary centers are located in IIT Delhi:
Centre for Applied Research in Electronics (CARE)
Centre for Atmospheric Sciences (CAS)
Centre for Biomedical Engineering (CBME)
Computer Services Centre (CSC)
Centre for Energy Studies (CES)
Educational Technology Services Centre (ETSC)
Industrial Tribology, Machine Dynamics & Maintenance Engineering (ITMMEC)
Instrument Design Development Centre (IDDC)
Centre for Polymer Science & Engineering (CPSE)
Centre for Rural Development & Technology (CRDT)
National Resource Centre for Value Education in Engineering (NRCVEE)

Indian Institute of Technology Delhi ranked 154th in the 2008 THES-QS World University Ranking

Indian Institute of Technology Delhi ranked 181st in the 2009 THES-QS World University Ranking

No comments:

The roots of education are bitter, but the fruits is sweet ~ Aristotle

Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world ~ Nelson Mandela

Education is not a preparation for life, Education is life itself ~ John Dewey
William Butler Yeats: Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire.