University College Cork

University College Cork (UCC) (Irish: Coláiste na hOllscoile Corcaigh) is a constituent university of the National University of Ireland. The university is located in Cork.

The university was founded as a college in 1845 as Queen's College, Cork. It became University College, Cork, under the Irish Universities Act of 1908. The Universities Act, 1997 renamed the university as National University of Ireland, Cork, and a Ministerial Order of 1998 renamed the university as University College Cork - National University of Ireland, Cork, though it continues to be almost universally known as University College Cork.


Queen's College, Cork was founded by the provisions of an act which enabled Queen Victoria to endow new colleges for the "Advancement of Learning in Ireland". Under the powers of this act, the three colleges of Belfast, Cork and Galway were incorporated on 30 December 1845. The college opened in 1849 with 23 professors and 181 students and a year later became part of the Queen's University of Ireland.

The original site chosen for the College was particularly appropriate in that it is believed to have had a connection with the patron saint of Cork, Saint Finbarr. His monastery and school of learning were close by at Gill Abbey Rock and the mill attached to the monastery is thought to have stood on the bank of the south channel of the River Lee, which runs through the College lower grounds. This association is also reflected in the College motto "Where Finbarr Taught, Let Munster Learn" which is also the current university motto.
On this site (on a hill overlooking the valley of the Lee), the Tudor Gothic quadrangle and early campus buildings were built by Deane and Woodward. Over the coming years the College gained a standing for excellence in various fields, including mathematics, medicine and the humanities.

The medical buildings were built in stages between 1860 and 1880, and the faculty quickly gained a reputation for the quality of its graduates. The first two women to graduate in medicine in Ireland did so in 1898 (this was notable as it was more than 20 years before women were permitted to sit for medicine at the University of Oxford).

In the following century, the Irish Universities Act (1908) formed the National University of Ireland, consisting of the three constituent colleges of Dublin, Cork and Galway, and the college was given the status of a university college as University College, Cork. The Universities Act, 1997, made the university college a constituent university of the National University and made the constituent university a full university for all purposes except the awarding of degrees and diplomas which remains the sole remit of the National University.
Colleges and Schools


Today the university has over 17,000 students - of which there are over 14,000 undergraduate degree candidates. This student base is supported by 2,578 staff - of which 764 are faculty. There are 1104 non academic staff and 710 research staff.

The university is one of Ireland's leading research institutes, with the highest research income in the state.The university's internal research reputation spans all of its faculties where it offers over 120 degree and professional programmes through seven schools and 27 departments. The university had seven faculties in Arts and Celtic Studies, Commerce, Engineering, Food Science and Technology, Law, Medicine, and Science. In recent years,the University has been restructured so that it now has four colleges: Arts, Celtic Studies and Social Science; Business and Law; Medicine and Health; and Science, Engineering and Food Science.

UCC School of Medicine is part of the College of Medicine and Health, and is based at the Brookfield Health Sciences Center on the main UCC campus and is affiliated with the 880-bed University College Cork Teaching Hospital, which is the largest medical center in Ireland. The UCC School Of Pharmacy is based in the Cavanagh Pharmacy Building. UCC is also home to the Irish Institute of Chinese Studies, which allows students to study Chinese culture as well as the language through Arts and Commerce. The department recently won the European Award for Languages 2008.


University College Cork is made up of four Colleges:

Arts, Celtic Studies and Social Sciences
Business and Law
Medicine and Health
Science, Engineering and Food Science
Each College is made up of a number of different Schools which in turn are made of many different disciplines. The manyundergraduate and postgraduate courses of the university are delivered by these Colleges and Schools.

Schools, Departments, Centres & Units
Accounting and Finance
Analytical & Biological Chemistry Research Facility
Applied Linguistics
Applied Psychology
Aquaculture & Fisheries Development Centre
Biomedical Science
Business Information Systems
Béaloideas: Department of Folklore
CACSSS Graduate School
CACSSS Research
Centre for Architectural Education
Centre for Criminal Justice and Human Rights
Centre for Mexican Studies
Centre for Policy Studies
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Computer Science
Computer Science - Courses & Programmes
Computer Science - For Schools & Parents
Cork NeuroScience Group
Cork University Dental School and Hospital
Department of Anatomy and Neuroscience
Department of Chemistry
Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Department of Epidemiology and Public Health
Department of General Practice
Department of Medicine
Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics
Department of Psychiatry
Drama and Theatre Studies
Environmental Law Forum
European Studies
Faculty of Law
Film Studies
Food Business and Development
Food Industry Training Unit
Forensic Psychology Research Programme
Genetics and Biotechnology Lab
Happiness by Numbers: Statistical Modelling of Positivity
Hispanic Studies
History of Art
HRB Centre for Health and Diet Research
Institute for Social Science in the 21st Century
Integrative and Systems Microbiology
Inter-disciplinary Degree Programmes in Environmental Science
Irish Centre for Galician Studies
Irish Institute of Japanese Studies
Making Books, Shaping Readers
Management and Marketing
MBS International Public Policy and Diplomacy
Migration and Networks of Care
National Perinatal Epidemiology Centre
Neonatal Resuscitation Programme
Nutritional Biochemistry Research Group
Obstetrics and Gynaecology
Occupational Science & Occupational Therapy
Paediatrics and Child Health
Process and Chemical Engineering
Programme in Planning and Sustainable Development
SCENARIO - Online Journal - ISSN 1649-8526
School of Applied Social Studies
School of Asian Studies
School of Biological, Earth & Environmental Sciences
School of Economics
School of Education
School of Engineering
School of English
School of Food and Nutritional Sciences
School of Geography and Archaeology: The Human Environment
School of Languages, Literatures and Cultures
School of Mathematical Sciences
School of Medicine
School of Music and Theatre
School of Nursing and Midwifery
School of Pharmacy
School of Sociology and Philosophy
Scoil Léann na Gaeilge/School of Irish Learning
Sean- agus Meán-Ghaeilge
Speech and Hearing Sciences
Study of Religions
The Jennings Gallery
University College Cork Humanities Platform
University Language Centre
Women's Studies

University College Cork ranked 184th in the 2010 QS World University Ranking

University College Cork ranked 181th in the 2011 QS World University Ranking

No comments:

The roots of education are bitter, but the fruits is sweet ~ Aristotle

Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world ~ Nelson Mandela

Education is not a preparation for life, Education is life itself ~ John Dewey
William Butler Yeats: Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire.